My Thoughts on The Wire (so far)

So I just finished season 1 of The Wire. You heard right, season 1. Yeah I’m late, bite me.

I have to admit, it started out real slow. I don’t know if it was because it was actually slow or because I kept hearing such great things about it that I had high expectations early on. For a bit I was wondering if it would ever pick up and really catch my interest. And then, out of nowhere, POW! It was like being tackled by Precious, without the suffocation and death. The show had me. I was hooked. Since I don’t know how many of you have already seen The Wire, I won’t spoil anything by telling you what the turning point was for me.

To be honest, this show reminds me of LOST (come again??). Hear me out. The emphasis that is placed on character development in both of these shows is top-notch. The police investigations in The Wire and the island in LOST, while significant to the plot, are nothing but secondary devices used to magnify the real point of these shows: the interactions these characters have with each other and the growth that they go through because of it. You watch these shows because you’re invested in these people. That’s what hooks you. Not the scandals, the drugs, the murders, the smoke monster, the hatch, the donkey wheel, none of it.

And in both shows, every character is flawed. There are no true good or bad guys, just people who struggle with the right and wrong choices that they make every day. Of course, some of the characters make more good decisions than bad and vice versa. However, this is the beauty of these shows. They make you hate the “bad” guys one minute and then love them the next. Same with the “good” guys. There are subtle lines drawn to tell you who is on what side, but overall every character is a human being; flawed, imperfect, and ready to deal with the consequences of their actions.

Anyway, it’s just the first season so I have a bit more to go before I can judge the entire series. But I have no doubt that it will meet my expectations and then some.

Happy now, bitch?

-TDA

10 thoughts on “My Thoughts on The Wire (so far)

  1. 1) I didn’t watch the entire series but I did enjoy the first 2 seasons. By far, Omar was my favorite and one of the most interesting characters I’ve ever seen on television. Enjoy the rest of the series.

    2) “It was like being tackled by Precious, without the suffocation and death.” <—I hate you for this!!

  2. lmao @ “It was like being tackled by Precious, without the suffocation and death” you stoopit.

    good post! i feel you on your assessment about being invested in the characters, and no one character being good or bad because of the day to day choices they have to make in terms of survival (be it on the job, in the streets, etc). its amazing when you are rooting for the villain and sad when they get capped (did “capped” sound weird coming from me? oh well). the writing on this entire series is genius and just so well captured on screen. it only gets better from here (although I will say season 2 was a bit boring to me, though interesting nonetheless). each season focuses on a diff aspect in the community (the task force, the docks, the public school system, the newspaper) so you really get a WHOLE view of what contributes to a city’s crime, poverty, corruption, etc. season 3 and 4 are my faves. but enjoy the ride!! (pause?)

  3. Don’t worry, I’m not judging about your lateness…I haven’t seen one episode of the Wire yet, but I hear the same things you just said ALL the TIME. So, because of you, I’m more compelled to rent the DVDs and watch them.

    BTW: did you know that either Harvard, Yale, or Princeton (one of those Ivys) has a class centered around the Wire? Umm, yes. That’s how banging the show is.

    And, I can’t with the Precious quip. LOL. Pure hilarity.

  4. “The police investigations in The Wire and the island in LOST, while significant to the plot, are nothing but secondary devices used to magnify the real point of these shows: the interactions these characters have with each other and the growth that they go through because of it.”

    I’ve never seen Lost a day in my life (I know too many people who watch it so I’ll check it out one day I’m sure), but this is TOO true of The Wire. The character actors are my favorite part of the show other than the writing. They seem so real. As if I’m eavesdropping on real conversations and real life happenings. It makes you forget you’re watching a TV show…and that’s a TV Show’s ultimate goal. To pull you in so far and so deep, that you feel a part of it somehow.

  5. Like what you have done with the blog, my man. Glad you got through the 1st season of the Wire. You will love the rest, especially when season 3 rolls around. My favorite characters are McNulty, Stringer, and Chris Partlow. I am up to pretty much watching an episode a night of my box set whenever I am in town because it sucks you in so much. The realism of the characters are what does it for me.

  6. You late…fortunately for you, I love The Wire and love talking about the show. I’m curious to know what the turning point in the show was for you.

  7. OMG I love you because you compared The Wire to LOST, and they are both my two favorite series’ ever. Lots of people didn’t understand how I could become such a nerd for LOST and also be obsessed with The Wire, but you said it all THE CHARACTERS. I love a good fleshed out character. which is why I hate all things Tyler Perry. lol

    keep watching, its an excellent series. definitely gets better with seasons 3 and 4.

Leave a Reply

