My Love Letter To Black Women

Dear black women,

I am sorry. 

I’m sorry I didn’t speak up for you enough. I’m sorry I didn’t tell you how beautiful and sexy you were enough. I’m sorry I didn’t praise your strength and courage enough. I’m sorry I didn’t fight for positive images of black girls & women as hard as I fought for positive images of black boys & men. I’m sorry I didn’t intervene when your skin, hair, weight, and psyche were demeaned and unappreciated, but instead turned the other way and sometimes even joined in. I’m sorry that I insulted you when really my insecurities had turned me into a coward. I’m sorry I didn’t always acknowledge the burdens you have to carry through this life just for being a black woman. As a man, but especially as a black man, I let you down.

You deserve so much more than what myself and society have given you. There are so many amazing black women in my life who shatter every negative stereotype out there. Even with all the vitriol spewed at them, these women somehow will themselves to rise above it. You’ve all made such a huge impact in my life.

Thank you for using your strength to lift me up. Thank you for raising me to be a caring and thoughtful man. Thank you for letting me cry. Thank you for taking care of me when I needed you. Thank you for using your voice to chastise and empower me. Thank you for showing me how to love selflessly. Thank you for being a black woman.

“Cause I love you girls though you ain’t mine
I wish my arms was long enough to hug you all at the same time”

Sincerely,
TDA

One thought on “My Love Letter To Black Women

Leave a comment